Tell me a story.

A painting found in a watering hole in Hoi Anh, Vietnam.

When I was a little girl, almost every night I would insist that my father “tell me a story!” Sometimes they were stories of his childhood in 1950’s & 60’s rural South Jersey. Sometimes they would be about learning to skydive and living out of an orange van in Albuquerque, New Mexico in the 70’s. And sometimes they would be about Marine Corps boot-camp at Camp Lejuene or what I now realize were highly edited versions of surviving ambushes in the jungles of Vietnam.

This past Veteran’s Day, I asked my father to sit down with me and tell me a story about his experience as a young man in Vietnam.

This story originally aired on KPFA 94.1 FM’s Full Circle, November 12, 2010. Jane Chang and I co-hosted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

